The Dharma Wheel’s 8 spokes represent the Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path is one of my favorite teachings and something I always come back to. One of the first Dharma books I’ve ever read was from about 10 years ago, a book called Mindfulness in Plain English by Bhante Henepola Gunarantana.

I didn’t understand all of it, but thing that lingered with me was a section on craving and clinging. He mentioned that the two most tragic things in life is getting what someone wants and then the fear of losing it, or not getting what one wants and experiencing disatifaction from the unfulfilled longing. Over time I compared many events in my life to what he said, and started to understand that maybe he was right. In a way, this started to slowly pull me into a vortex of practice.

Venerable Caine Das has a blog titled, Reflection of a Buddhist Monk, that I would strongly suggest. He has put together a series on the Noble Eightfold Path that is mixed in with well written prose and is supported by stories from his life, which reflect how deeply he’s contemplated this topic.

The Noble Eightfold Path Pt 1

The Noble Eightfold Path Pt 2

The Noble Eightfold Path Pt 3

The Noble Eightfold Path Pt 4

The Noble Eightfold Path Pt 5

The Noble Eightfold Path Pt 6

The Noble Eightfold Path Pt 7

The Noble Eightfold Path Pt 8

Related Posts:

More Website Recommendations…

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine